

For Release: April 6, 2019

# <u>News Release</u>

# <u>Tsawwassen First Nation General Election Results: Ken Baird</u> <u>elected Chief of TFN</u>

Tsawwassen Lands – This evening, Tsawwassen First Nation (TFN) elected its fifth Legislative Assembly since the Effective Date of the Treaty. The polls closed tonight at 8 p.m.

Ken Baird was elected Chief, while 13 Members were voted into the Legislature. The top four vote recipients to the Legislature are invited by the Chief to join the Executive Council.

Due to a six-way tie for tenth place, and following a recount with identical results, a draw was held to determine the tenth through thirteenth positions. This was done in accordance with TFN Election Laws.

318 Members were eligible to vote, of a population of 491 Members. 175 Members voted, for a voter turnout rate of 55% of eligible voters.

These are the results.

### Chief:

- Ken Baird 86 (Elected Chief)
- Bryce Williams 78
- Andrew Bak (Withdrew)

### Legislature:

### <u>Elected</u>

• Laura Cassidy 101 (Executive Council)

- Louise Ahlm 91 (Executive Council)
- Steven Brian Stark 84 (Executive Council)
- Valerie Cross-Blackett 83 (Executive Council)
- Sheila Williams 73
- Nikki Jacobs 68
- Loretta (Law) Williams 67
- Andrea Jacobs 58
- Tia Williams 58
- Jesseca Adams 55
- Victoria (Skosswunson) Williams 55
- Kathy Genge 55
- Mike Baird 55

## Other Candidates

- Andrew Bak 54
- Terri A. Splockton 54
- Christopher Ramsey 47
- Maryanne Adams 42
- Ruby Baird 38
- Christina Shellard 19
- Coral Baird (Withdrew)

Tsawwassen Government is entering its fifth mandate as the elected representatives of Tsawwassen First Nation, a self-governing First Nation under the terms of a 2009 Final Agreement with British Columbia and Canada.

Under Tsawwassen Law, separate votes are held for the Chief and the Legislature. The role of the Chief is to provide ongoing, strategic advice and input to the government and to chair meetings of Executive Council, among a host of other duties.

The Legislature comprises 13 members, in addition to the Chief. The Legislature usually holds two sessions a year, lasting one to two months. During each session, Legislators meet twice a week to debate and consider enacting Tsawwassen Laws and to pass the annual budget.

The four Legislators who get the most votes in the election are appointed to the Executive Council, as is the Chief. The Executive Council meets weekly to manage the Government's day-to-day operations, debate proposed regulations under Tsawwassen Laws and manage other responsibilities of the Tsawwassen Government. The Chief and Legislators are elected for 3-year terms.