

TSAWWASSEN FIRST NATION score and masteyax<sup>w</sup>

For Release: April 10, 2013

## News Release

## <u>Tsawwassen First Nation Unofficial Election Results:</u> <u>New Chief & Legislature Elected</u>

Tsawwassen, B.C. – Members of B.C.'s first urban First Nations government returned to the polls today to re-elect their second Legislative Assembly this evening. The polls for the Tsawwassen First Nation (TFN) election closed tonight at 8:00 p.m., and the vote count was complete by 10:20 p.m. This election was held in accordance with the decision of the TFN Judicial Council of December 11<sup>th</sup>, 2012, which declared the result of the general election held on September 5<sup>th</sup> to be invalid due to a discrepancy with the election date.

(262 Members were eligible to vote, of a population of 451 Members. 193 Members voted, for a voter turnout rate of 73%.)

These are the results.

## Chief:

• Bryce Williams

## Legislature:

- Laura Cassidy (also eligible for Executive Council appointment)
- Ken Baird (also eligible for to Executive Council appointment)
- Louise Ahlm (also eligible for Executive Council appointment)
- Tony Jacobs (also eligible for Executive Council appointment)
- Nikki Jacobs
- Melinda Cassidy
- Loretta Williams
- Sheila Williams
- Karl Morgan
- Andrea Jacobs
- Jesseca Adams
- Steven Stark

.../2



This marks the third mandate as the elected representatives of Tsawwassen First Nation, a self-governing First Nation under the terms of a 2009 Final Agreement with British Columbia and Canada.

Under Tsawwassen Law, separate votes are held for the Chief and the Legislature. The role of the Chief is to provide on-going, strategic advice and input to the government and chair meetings of Executive Council, among a host of other duties.

The Legislature comprises 12 members, in addition to the Chief. Legislators are elected for a 3-year term. The Legislature usually meets twice a week over one to two-month sessions, which are held once or twice a year. Specific responsibilities include meeting to debate and consider enacting Tsawwassen Laws and to pass the annual budget.

The four Legislators who get the most votes in the election are appointed to the Executive Council, as is the Chief. The Executive Council meets weekly to manage the Government's day-to-day operations, debate proposed regulations under Tsawwassen Laws and other responsibilities of the Tsawwassen Government.

For More Information:

• Tanya Corbet: 604-928-0879